HHS Delays Stage 2 Meaningful Use Reporting Requirements to 2014

by Rebecca Farley on November 30, 2011

HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius

Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sibelius has announced that the agency will delay the effective date of Stage 2 Meaningful Use reporting requirements to 2014.

Under the system of health information technology incentive payments established in 2009, providers and organizations who receive the payments must attest to meeting certain criteria for the “meaningful use” of the technology. The Meaningful Use criteria are divided into three stages: Stage 1 criteria primarily focus on capturing and communicating health data, while Stages 2 and 3 require the use of that data to inform more advanced clinical processes.

Previously, providers and organizations that attested to meeting the Stage 1 Meaningful Use criteria in 2011 had to meet the Stage 2 criteria by 2013 in order to continue to receive their payments. That date has now been pushed back to 2014 to give providers more time to achieve Meaningful Use.

In her announcement, Secretary Sibelius noted that doctors’ adoption of health information technology has doubled in two years, while over 50,000 health IT-related jobs have been created since the passage of the federal incentive payment program. For more information on meeting Meaningful Use requirements, visit HealthIT.gov.


share this article on your social site
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • Tumblr
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: