Behavioral Health IT Act Gains New Cosponsor

by Rebecca Farley on February 9, 2012

Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) has added his name as a cosponsor of the Behavioral Health IT Act of 2011 (S. 539). This legislation would extend federal incentive payments for the meaningful use of health information technology to certain behavioral health providers and organizations that cannot receive the payments under current law.

S. 539 was introduced in March of 2011  by Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI). Senator Brown’s support brings the total number of Democratic and Republican cosponsors to 15: Daniel Akaka (HI); Mark Begich (AK); Jeff Bingaman (NM); Richard Blumenthal (CT); Robert Casey (PA); Susan Collins (ME); Daniel Inouye (HI); Tim Johnson (SD); John Kerry (MA); Frank Lautenberg (NJ); Robert Menendez (NJ); Jack Reed (RI); Bernard Sanders (VT); and Charles Schumer (NY).

With only a few dozen of the thousands of bills introduced in each Congress ever becoming law, having many cosponsors on a bill substantially increases its chances of passage. If you have not already done so, please click here to send your Senators an email asking for their support of behavioral health IT. If your Senator is already a cosponsor, you can use the same link to thank them for their support!


share this article on your social site
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Technorati
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • Tumblr
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: